The treadmill of life

Another week ends. My life is getting as hectic as it can probably get & I am loving it. The more I keep myself busy, the more I can be distracted from the truth. Some decisions are perhaps better not taken. So here I am living my regular day. Tweaking my schedule just that little bit to fit in as much as I can. Health & fitness is always last on the list, right next to sleep. You get one you lose the other! At least that’s how it is for me.

These days I have simply stopped planning to run on the roads. To compensate, I try extra hard & make some time to go to my office gym. The down side is that I am now forced to use a treadmill. I don’t know how anyone can do this to themselves. Imagine, you are running, panting but nothing around you really moves. There is this beautiful view that you face, but it seems so unreachable as the distance between you never diminishes. You see the same things around you, the same buttons on the machine and out of boredom, you keep looking at the seconds that seem to be ticking so slow that 30 minutes seem like forever. Then when you are sweating profusely, you suddenly see the weather getting enviously beautiful on the other side of the large window. Nice soft breeze accompanied by rains. And here you are in an air conditioned room looking at the showers that would otherwise drench you & rejuvenate you. I do feel like a chimp at the zoo, looking out of an enclosure. Now that is what indoor running does to me.

No choice here, so do just that as of now, 30 minutes of running but not getting anywhere.

Leave a comment